Infernal Glory

What do you mean Warlocks and Paladins don't mix?

Greetings

Well, this is a fine how-do-you-do. Welcome to my little corner of the WoW blogo-something. My name is Gabe, and I’ll be rambling on for your pleasure.

Why I’m Here

Funnily enough, I didn’t originally intend for things to get this bad. I’ve been playing World of Warcraft on and off since vanilla, and though old accounts have been lost to the ether (more specifically, the Battle.Net merger) I made my return around two months ago, not long after Cataclysm hit. See, I was interested to see what it brought to the old, familiar Azeroth. Added to that, I have a notorious reputation for never reaching endgame on any characters I play in MMOs, as my attention span wanes long before I reach that far-off number. My plan was to re-buy everything on my current Battle.Net account so that it’d be there for when my occasional ‘Must play WoW’ cravings hit, and probably stop playing a month after I started.

That didn’t happen this time.

A month after I started, I was max level, and sitting on top of a cache of quest gear. At this point, I asked myself a serious question: “Are you bored yet?”
The answer came back as a resounding “Nope”. So onwards I went.

Goals

I realised that one thing I had never done in any of my stints playing WoW was experience end-game content. And yet here I was, sitting at max level on a month-old Demonology Warlock with the end game content of everything open to me. I’d never seen Ahn’Qiraj, despite being around for the gate opening event for my realm. I’d never gone through any raids in the Outlands or Northrend, never stomped Archimonde in his face, never put a boot to the Lich King… yet here I was.

A good goal was needed, otherwise I would just putter about aimlessly and probably fall out of the game again. So I — in my very misplaced wisdom– decided that a good goal was one that was far off in the distance, something to aspire to.
So I promptly set my goal as raiding and patted myself on the back for a job well done. I’m a moron.

The Present

Fast forward a month and here I am, closer to that lofty goal, but still so far away. I’ve done some very interesting things in the interim, which is going to be perfect post content for this little corner of the internet. And so, I invite you all to join me as I continue my push towards that goal, and read some of my thoughts about the game as I go.

Leave a Reply

